The North Spokane Library is closed for construction on Thu, March 30 & Fri, March 31. Please renew books & materials online during this time. Regular hours resume Sat, April 1.

Nourish

Welcome!

Our spring Nourish series has everything you need to stimulate your mind, energize your body, and renew your spirit. Try something new or revisit the old with these wellness ideas and practices for everyday living. Take care of you.

To download a printable PDF of the programs listed below, please click here.

Introduction to Yoga
Therapeutic Yoga
Tai Chi
Beginning Meditation
Online Tools for Health and Fitness
Healthy Home Fermentation
Coffee and Chocolate Pairings
Tea Time
Online Tools for Home Chefs
Online Couponing
Cooking Locally
Organic Vegetable Gardening
Therapeutic Horticulture
Exploring Inland Northwest Outdoors
Farmers Markets

Page_Nourish

Inner Focus

Introduction to Yoga

If you are new to yoga or have been away from the mat for a while, this is your class. Instructors from South Perry Yoga focus on getting you comfortable with some basic poses and routines. Open to adults and mature young adults of all fitness levels. It’s best to wear comfortable clothes and please bring a yoga mat if you have one.

SPOKANE VALLEY
Saturday, Apr 18, 2–3pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Friday, Apr 24, 10:30–11:30am

DEER PARK
Saturday, Apr 25, 2–3pm

MEDICAL LAKE
Saturday, May 9, 2–3pm

OTIS ORCHARDS
Saturday, May 16, 2–3pm

Back to top

Therapeutic Yoga

These practical yoga techniques, taught by instructor Leslie DoQui Sretenovic, help with your everyday life. Open to adults and mature young adults of all fitness levels. It’s best to wear comfortable clothes and please bring a yoga mat if you have one.

Yoga for Beginners
NORTH SPOKANE
Thursday, May 7, 6:30–7:30pm

Gentle Yoga
NORTH SPOKANE
Thursday, May 14, 6:30–7:30pm

Yoga for Pain Relief
NORTH SPOKANE
Thursday, Jun 4, 6:30–7:30pm

Yoga for the Office
NORTH SPOKANE
Thursday, Jun 11, 6:30–7:30pm

Back to top

Tai Chi

This gentle exercise routine stretches and strengthens muscles, and calms busy minds. Teachers from the School of Tai Chi Chuan use their unique method to guide you into this ancient practice. Open to adults and mature young adults of all fitness levels. Please wear comfortable clothing and thick socks.

NORTH SPOKANE
Wednesday, Apr 29, 6:30–7:45pm

SPOKANE VALLEY
Wednesday, May 6, 6:30–7:45pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Wednesday May 13, 6:30–7:45pm

CHENEY
Wednesday, May 20, 6:30–7:45pm

ARGONNE
Wednesday, Jun 3, 6:30–7:45pm

Back to top

Beginning Meditation

Explore your natural capacity for focused relaxation in this introduction to basic meditation practices. The techniques taught aid you in attending to your body and mind. For maximum comfort please bring pillows or blankets.

ARGONNE
Monday, Apr 13, 6:30–7:30pm

NORTH SPOKANE
Sunday, Apr 19, 1–2pm

SPOKANE VALLEY
Monday, Apr 27, 6:30–7:30pm

DEER PARK
Monday, May 4, 6:30–7:30pm

CHENEY
Sunday, May 17, 1–2pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Monday, Jun 8, 6:30–7:30pm

Back to top

Online Tools for Health and Fitness

Keep yourself motivated as you work towards a healthier you. Discover health and fitness apps and websites to help you stay on track with your health goals.

NORTH SPOKANE
Thursday, May 21, 7pm

SPOKANE VALLEY
Thursday, May 28, 7pm

Back to top

Bite Into Health

Healthy Home Fermentation

Fermentation is an ancient practice used to preserve fruits and vegetables and also make those foods healthier and more digestible. Fitness and nutrition experts Ben and Jessa Greenfield introduce you to the world of fermentation so you can start preserving at home.

OTIS ORCHARDS
Tuesday, May 12, 12–1pm

ARGONNE
Tuesday, May 19, 6:30–7:30pm

Back to top

Coffee and Chocolate Pairings

with The Chocolate Apothecary

Every chocolate and coffee is unique. The region of growth, soil composition, altitude, and processing methods all impart unique qualities to a cup or bar. Taste these differences side by side with our guide from the Chocolate Apothecary.

CHENEY
Saturday, Apr 25, 2–3pm

ARGONNE
Saturday, May 2, 2–3pm

FAIRFIELD
Saturday, May 16, 2–3pm

DEER PARK
Saturday, Jun 13, 2–3pm

Back to top

Tea Time

Not just a hug in a cup, tea also has many beneficial health properties. Sherri Davey, owner of Heavenly Special Teas, presents information about the health benefits of tea and the differences between types of tea. Sherri also gives a demonstration on properly brewing loose-leaf tea with samples for the audience.

DEER PARK
Wednesday, Apr 22, 6:30–7:30pm

NORTH SPOKANE
Monday, May 4, 7–8pm

AIRWAY HEIGHTS
Thursday, May 21, 6:30–7:30pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Tuesday, May 26, 6:30–7:30pm

OTIS ORCHARDS
Tuesday, Jun 2, 6:30–7:30pm

Back to top

Online Tools for Home Chefs

The home chef has countless tools available just at their fingertips. Learn about the best websites and apps to help you find new recipes or organize all your old favorites. Also search for recipes suited to particular dietary requirements and explore special tools for analyzing a recipe’s nutritional profile. View class materials.

NORTH SPOKANE
Thursday, Apr 16, 7pm

SPOKANE VALLEY
Thursday, Apr 23, 7pm

Back to top

Online Couponing

Couponing doesn’t have to be extreme. Review popular apps, websites, and services designed to help you find savings, compare deals, and organize your coupons.

NORTH SPOKANE
Monday, Jun 8, 7pm

SPOKANE VALLEY
Thursday, Jun 25, 7pm

Back to top

Cooking Locally

With a wealth of regional resources available, cooking locally has become more feasible for the home cook. Joshua Martin, local chef and culinary instructor, talks about his experience with regional foods and farms and gives a cooking demonstration.

NORTH SPOKANE
Wednesday, May 27, 7–8pm

SPOKANE VALLEY
Monday, Jun 1, 7–8pm

MEDICAL LAKE
Tuesday, Jun 9, 6:30–7:30

Back to top

Get Grounded

Organic Vegetable Gardening

Presented by Master Gardener Marilyn Lloyd

Get all the basics for your organic vegetable garden in this fast-paced class. From zones to starts, to soil prep and composting, learn all you need to create a sustainable, organic garden today.

OTIS ORCHARDS
Tuesday, Apr 7, 6:30–7:30pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Thursday, Apr 16, 1–2pm

MEDICAL LAKE
Tuesday, May 19, 6:30–7:30pm

Back to top

Therapeutic Horticulture

Presented by Master Gardener Cathi Lamoreux

Learn about the therapeutic benefits of a peaceful garden setting, and how you can use plants in your garden to promote wellness of your mind and body.

AIRWAY HEIGHTS
Thursday, Apr 30, 6:30–7:30pm

NORTH SPOKANE
Wednesday, May 20, 6:30–7:30pm

FAIRFIELD
Saturday, Jun 6, 2–3pm

Back to top

Exploring Inland Northwest Outdoors

Through words and pictures Craig Goodwin shares his journey and the lessons he’s learned from photographing the unique beauty of our region. He also shares practical tips on viewing the Northern Lights, local wildlife, and nearby wonders like Palouse Falls.

NORTH SPOKANE
Wednesday, Jun 3, 6:30–7:30pm

ARGONNE
Wednesday, Jun 10, 6:30–7:30pm

Back to top

Farmers’ Markets

During the growing season our county is filled with farmers’ markets. Get fresh and local produce, flowers, and crafts. Support local farms, get outside, and visit with neighbors.

Cheney Farmers’ Market
Cheney City Hall Parking Lot next to library
corner of 2nd and “C” Street
Cheney, WA 99004

June–September
Tuesdays, 2–7pm

Deer Park/Clayton Farmers Market
Deer Park/Clayton Fairgrounds
4616 Wallbridge Road
Clayton, WA 99110

June–September
Sundays, 12–4pm
509.276.9644

Liberty Lake Farmers Market
1421 N. Meadowwood Lane (Liberty Square)
Liberty Lake, WA 99019

May–October
Saturdays, 9am–1pm
509.879.4965

Millwood Farmers Market
Millwood Community Presbyterian Church
3223 North Marguerite Rd.
Spokane, WA 99212

May 23–Sept 26
Wednesdays, 3–7pm
509.924.2350

South Perry Farmers’ Market
924 South Perry Street
Spokane, WA 99202

March–mid-May (indoors) & June–October
Thursdays, 3–7pm

November–December (indoors)
Thursday 3–6pm

509.879.1826

Spokane Farmers Market
20 W 5th Avenue
Spokane, WA 99202
(between Division and Browne)

May–October
Wednesdays & Saturdays, 8am–1pm
509.995.0182

Emerson–Garfield Farmers’ Market
Knox Presbyterian Church
806 W Knox
Spokane, WA 99205

June–October
Fridays, 3–7pm

 

Back to top