All locations will be closed Monday, October 14, for Staff Development Day and the website will be unavailable from 5am to noon. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Legal Voices workshops help seniors & their families navigate financial terrain

Posted on January 22, 2018 at 6:00 am

Financial planning can be tricky and overwhelming. An abundance of information exists for consideration. Yet planning ahead allows you to outline your wishes, care for your family, and make the best decisions for your future. If you’ve been putting off planning for your senior years—whether already a senior or not—now is the time to dive in with local, professional help.

Elder Law Group PLLC lead the workshop series “Legal Voices for Seniors” at two District libraries, starting February 5 through March 20. Each week, the workshop covers different social, financial, and legal issues that affect seniors and their families.

You’ll get the tools to help make key decisions in advance, including valuable information for individuals, families, and caregivers to plan for life and end-of-life, giving you more control and peace of mind. These workshops are based upon The Handbook for Washington Seniors published by www.legalvoice.org.

Workshop 1: Money & Authority

We discuss managing money for seniors, wills and trusts, powers of attorney, and health care advance directives.

ARGONNE
Monday, Feb 5, 4–5pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Tuesday, Feb 6, 4–5pm

Workshop 2: Home & Long-term Care

We talk about the benefits of home care and paying for long-term care services.

ARGONNE
Monday, Feb 12, 4–5pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Tuesday, Feb 13, 4–5pm

Workshop 3: Downsizing, Moving, & Asset Protection

We take a look at how to downsize a home and moving for seniors and share how a supplemental needs trust can protect assets.

ARGONNE
Monday, Feb 26, 4–5pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Tuesday, Feb 27, 4–5pm

Workshop 4: Probate & Funeral Planning

We go over the pitfalls of funeral planning and help you understand probate.

ARGONNE
Monday, Mar 5, 4–5pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Tuesday, Mar 6, 4–5pm

Workshop 5: Estate Planning & Legal Resources

We review estate planning options and provide legal resources for seniors.

ARGONNE
Monday, Mar 12, 4–5pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Tuesday, Mar 13, 4–5pm

Workshop 6: Medicaid & Long-term Care

We review Medicaid and long-term care strategies.

ARGONNE
Monday, Mar 19, 4–5pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Tuesday, Mar 20, 4–5pm

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,