All Spokane County Library District locations will be closed for the Thanksgiving holiday, Thu, Nov 22 & Fri, Nov 23. Regular location hours resume, Sat, Nov 24.

Master Gardeners share the dirt: From butterflies to herb gardens

Posted on January 24, 2018 at 6:00 am

In preparation for spring planting season, we have partnered with Master Gardeners from the Washington State University Master Gardener Program for workshops focused growing with garden starters, gardening in containers, herb gardening, gardens that attract butterflies and hummingbirds, and more.

Get the know-how to make your garden flourish!

UPCOMING GARDENING PROGRAMS

Garden Starters
with Master Gardener Kurt Madison

OTIS ORCHARDS
Tuesday, Feb 6, 6:30–7:30pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Wednesday, Feb 7, 6:30–7:30pm

FAIRFIELD
Tuesday, Feb 13, 6:30–7:30pm

Container Vegetable Gardening
with Master Gardener Marilyn Lloyd

MORAN PRAIRIE
Wednesday, Feb 28, 3–4pm

Biodegradable Seed Pots

CHENEY
Wednesday, Mar 21, 1–2pm

Herb Gardening
with Master Gardener Mia Marcum-McCoy

MORAN PRAIRIE
Thursday, Apr 5, 6:30–7:30pm

OTIS ORCHARDS
Tuesday, Apr 17, 6:30–7:30pm

FAIRFIELD
Tuesday, Apr 24, 6:30–7:30pm

Attracting Hummingbirds & Butterflies
with Master Gardener Eva Lusk

OTIS ORCHARDS
Saturday, May 5, 10:30–11:30am

FAIRFIELD
Tuesday, May 8, 6:30–7:30pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Wednesday, May 9, 6:30–7:30pm

Garden Votives
Registration is required.

MEDICAL LAKE
Wednesday, May 2, 6:30–7:30pm

Plant Starter Exchange
Additional plant starts are provided by the Friends of the North Spokane Library.

THE LAB AT NORTH SPOKANE
Saturday, May 5, 1–4pm

Vermiculture Composting

THE LAB AT NORTH SPOKANE
Saturday, May 19, 2–3pm

Artful Garden
For kids of all ages. 

THE LAB AT NORTH SPOKANE
Monday, May 21, 4–5pm

Find more information in our programs and events guide, Engage, available in our libraries and online at www.scld.org/engage.

THE SEED LIBRARIES

Our seed libraries take root in five locations: Cheney, Deer Park, Fairfield, Medical Lake, and Otis Orchards Libraries.

If you have saved seeds to share, bring them to our seed libraries, and we will make sure they are available for other gardeners. Plus if you are looking for something new to grow, you can pick up some flower or vegetable seeds while you’re there!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,