All locations will be closed Monday, November 11, for Veterans Day. Our online services are available 24–7.

Uncover your creativity & watch live art-making at the library

Posted on September 26, 2019 at 6:00 am

LIVE ART DEMONSTRATIONS

Artists and craftspeople demonstrate how they create their art. You’re invited to watch and ask questions. The demonstrations in October are presented in conjunction with National Arts and Humanities Month.

Mindfulness Weaving with Diana Taylor

SPOKANE VALLEY
Saturday, Oct 5, 2–3:30pm

Tatting with Shuttlebird Tatting Guild

FAIRFIELD
Saturday, Oct 12, 10–11:30am

SPOKANE VALLEY
Saturday, Jan 4, 2–3:30pm

Pen & Ink: Native American Comic Book Drawings with Emma Noyes

ARGONNE
Saturday, Oct 19, 2–3:30pm

SPOKANE VALLEY
Saturday, Nov 2, 2–3:30pm

Watercolor Painting with Kelly Knouff-Burk

MEDICAL LAKE
Saturday, Oct 26, 10–11:30am

Pottery: Wheel Throwing with Darryl Nitta

SPOKANE VALLEY
Saturday, Dec 7, 2–3:30pm

GET CREATIVE AT THE LIBRARY

3D Printing Drop-In Hours

Stop by to see the 3D printer in action. Learn how to use Tinkercad software to create your 3D rendering. Get answers to your 3D printing questions.

SPOKANE VALLEY
Wednesdays, 3:30—5:30pm

Beginning Knitting

Learn to knit with instructor Brenda Beaulieu. You’ll start with a small knitting project and then practice with the support of your fellow beginners and Brenda. You may bring knitting supplies, if you have them. We’ll have knitting needles and yarn on hand. Adults

ARGONNE
Tuesday, Nov 12, 6–7:30pm

Mini Folding Photo Album

Create a 4-by-4-inch scrapbook folding album that you can use as a memento or unique handmade gift. Bring copies of photos and other print materials to showcase in your project. All other materials will be provided. Registration is required. Adults & Grades 6+

THE LAB AT NORTH SPOKANE
Thursday, Nov 21, 6–8pm | REGISTER

Medical Lake Monday Evening

Drop by the library for an engaging, fun time for the whole community. We might tackle STEM activities and experiments, art projects, games, or a mystery activity.

In December, we’ll create headbands and other decorative gear for the WinterFest Parade. All ages

Kids 6 and under must bring an adult.

MEDICAL LAKE
Monday, Dec 9 & Jan 13, 5:30–7pm

Cheeky Cross-Stitch

Unleash your inner snark, blow off some steam, and take a little time for yourself with a simple and cheeky cross-stitch project. Beginners and experienced crafters are welcome. We provide the materials. Registration is required. Adults

THE LAB AT NORTH SPOKANE
Thursday, Dec 19, 6–8pm | REGISTER

Instant Pot Cooking

Instant Pot maven Meegan Ware shares basic tips for pressure cooking, shows you how to create at least two recipes, and passes along additional recipes that can be prepared and cooked quickly. Ingredients will be provided. Adults

DEER PARK
Saturday, Jan 4, 2–3pm

ARGONNE
Tuesday, Jan 7, 6:30–7:30pm

AIRWAY HEIGHTS
Thursday, Jan 9, 6:30–7:30pm

FAIRFIELD
Tuesday, Jan 14, 6–7pm

CHENEY
Sunday, Jan 19, 3–4pm

MEDICAL LAKE
Wednesday, Jan 22, 6–7pm

SPOKANE VALLEY
Thursday, Jan 23, 7–8pm

MORAN PRAIRIE
Tuesday, Jan 28, 6:30–7:30pm

OTIS ORCHARDS
Wednesday, Jan 29, 6–7pm

THE LAB AT NORTH SPOKANE
Thursday, Jan 30, 7–8pm

Illuminated Bookmarks

Explore the history and making of illuminated manuscripts, the art form that decorated and preserved books before the invention of the printing press, with Hannah Charlton. You get to create a bookmark using historical methods and materials. Materials will be provided. Registration is required. Adults

THE LAB AT NORTH SPOKANE
Saturday, Jan 25, 10:30am–12pm | REGISTER

DIGITAL RESOURCES FOR CREATIVE ACTIVITIES

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

Access projects, newspaper and magazine articles, and books with cooking topics, knitting and cross-stitch projects, and other creative activities to try, using our digital resource Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center.

RBdigital Magazines

Instantly access digital magazines with articles to fuel your creativity, including American Craft, Bon Appétit, Cloth Paper Scissors, and Food Network Magazine, with our digital resource RBdigital Magazines.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,