## SPOKANE COUNTY LIBRARY DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES: DECEMBER 2, 2020

A special meeting of the Spokane County Library District Board of Trustees was held via teleconference, at 2:00 p.m., Wednesday, December 2, 2020.

**Present:** John Craig - Chair

Mark Johnson - Vice Chair Ami Calvert - Trustee Kristin Thompson - Trustee Wes Teterud - Trustee

Excused: None.

Call to Order (Item I.)

Chair John Craig called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m., and welcomed everyone in attendance.

Board of Trustees Position Vacancy Applicant Interviews (Item II.A.)

Following virtual interviews with six candidates at a special meeting held Monday, November 30, the Board of Trustees additionally conducted three interviews with candidates to ultimately replace Trustee Wesley M. Teterud, who will retire at the end of a five-year term on December 31, 2020. There were a total of 10 applicants for the position. An applicant tentatively scheduled for an interview at this meeting was not available to participate because of previously scheduled plans. Therefore, the Library Board did not conduct an interview with this candidate.

Appointment Recommendation to Board of County Commissioners (Item II.B.)

Following interviews and discussion among Trustees, Mr. Teterud moved and Mr. Johnson seconded that Jessica Hanson be recommended to the Board of County Commissioners for appointment to the SCLD Board of Trustees. Ms. Hanson was recommended because of her city council experience, including budgeting and capital facilities oversight, her architectural background, as it would be helpful in development of a new Spokane Valley Library facility, and her strong history of working as part of a team. In addition, Ms. Hanson is a resident of Spokane Valley, which helps maintain geographic representation on the board. Her presence would also further diversify the board's demographic perspective.

There was no further discussion.

The motion was unanimously approved.

## Adjournment (Item III.)

Chair Craig adjourned the meeting at 4:05 p.m.

John Craig, Chair

Patrick Roewe, Secretary to the Board of Trustees

AM Roewe