Friends of the Library

Our Friends of the Library groups are community-based, nonprofit volunteers inspiring passionate lifelong learners to invest in their community libraries. They volunteer their time and raise funds through community activities, such as used book sales, to enhance the Library District’s programs and services.

Learn more about upcoming book sales and Friends’ meetings below.

The Friends groups are always looking for volunteers to help with community book sales. To volunteer, contact the group at your local library (information below).

 

Used Book Sales

The Friends of the Libraries hold several book sales and programs throughout the year. Please visit often to view updates:

Argonne Library
Friday, Dec 6, 2019, 6–8pm (during Millwood Christmas Market)

Cheney Library
Saturday, May 9, 2020, 9am–2pm

Deer Park Library
Saturday, Jan 18, 2020, 9am–4pm (during Winterfest)

(AT DEER PARK AUTO FREIGHT BUILDING)
Friday, Jun 5, 2020, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Jun 6, 2020, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Jun 7, 2020, 11am–3pm

(AT DEER PARK AUTO FREIGHT BUILDING)
Friday, Jul 10, 2020, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Jul 11, 2020, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Jul 12, 2020, 11am–3pm

(AT DEER PARK AUTO FREIGHT BUILDING)
Friday, Aug 7, 2020, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Aug 8, 2020, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Aug 9, 2020, 11am–3pm

(AT DEER PARK AUTO FREIGHT BUILDING)
Friday, Sep 11, 2020, 9am–4pm
Saturday, Sep 12, 2020, 9am–4pm
Sunday, Sep 13, 2020, 11am–3pm

Fairfield Library
Saturday, Dec 7, 2019, 10am–4pm

Moran Prairie Library
Saturday, Jan 25, 2020, 9am–4pm

Saturday, Apr 25, 2020, 9am–4pm

North Spokane Library
Friday, Mar 20, 2020, 10am–3pm
Saturday, Mar 21, 2020, 10am–3pm

Friday, Oct 16, 2020, 10am–3pm
Saturday, Oct 17, 2020, 10am–3pm

Spokane Valley Library
Saturday (Pre-sale), Jan 25, 2020, 8:30–9:30am ($10 admission)
Saturday, Jan 25, 2020, 9:30am–3:30pm

Saturday (Pre-sale), Apr 25, 2020, 8:30–9:30am ($10 admission)
Saturday, Apr 25, 2020, 9:30am–3:30pm

Friday (Pre-sale), Oct 2, 2020, 3–5pm ($10 admission)
Saturday, Oct 3, 2020, 9am–3pm

 

Friends Meetings

Deer Park Library
Friday, Mar 20, 2020, 3pm

Medical Lake Library
2nd Monday of the month, 12:30pm

North Spokane Library
Monday, Feb 24, 2020, 7pm
Monday, Apr 6, 2020, 7pm
Monday, Sep 14, 2020, 7pm
Monday, Oct 26, 2020, 7pm

Spokane Valley Library
4th Wednesday of the month, 12pm

 

Contact a Friends Group

For information on membership and activities please call the Friends contact listed or call your local library.

Argonne
Cindy Walsh
509.893.8260 *

Cheney
Kathryn Barnard
509.893.8280 *

Deer Park
Bill Moore
509.276.7070

Fairfield
Berenice Emehiser
509.893.8320 *

Medical Lake
Lara Lavoie
509.893.8330 *

Moran Prairie
Patricia Moseley
509.893.8340 *

North Spokane
Brenda Lybbert
509.280.3823

Otis Orchards
Marcia Macholl
509.893.8390 *

Spokane Valley
Jason Blodgett
509.994.5633

*This phone number is to the library. Library staff will get your contact information to pass along to their Friends of the Library group.